Fresh Photography

Posted: September 1, 2011 in Media
Tags: , , , ,

It seems like action sports photography has been catching the eyes of WordPress staff members recently. Ever since I got a D-SLR for my birthday, I have been studying photography and enjoying it. These Freshly Pressed entries make me think that I can integrate another love of mine into this blog.

The last (and only) time I attempted action sports photography was in 2005 at an IFMA event. It was with a digital camera that was twice as large as my current digital camera (a Nikon Coolpix S700). The best picture I got is of Latin teacher-turned-superbike stunt rider Chris “Teach” McNeil:
Teach
Ah, the days of low res digital photos. Now onto some much better shots with more high tech cameras.

The first Freshly Pressed entry that caught my eye belonged to photographer Olivia Bush. She received recognition of her X Games skate practice shots. Now she’s got pictures of the motocross riders upside down, right side up, letting go of the bike, soaring through the obstacles, and resting comfortably on the bike. Check out her post, “Mucho Moto“.

Another Freshly Pressed photographer is the Skateorialist. His Freshly Pressed post, “Freezin’ on Wabash“, doesn’t quite fall under the category of action sports photography, but his blog provides a skater’s point of view. I’m assuming his blog name was inspired by the Sartorialist who is a fashion photographer-blogger interested in street styles around the world. The Skateorialist covers more than just people and clothes though; he’s got pictures of murals and food and videos of concerts and local BMXers.

A couple days ago, a photographer in South Africa named Robin was featured with her post about some motocross riders she happened to drive by and shoot (what good fortune!). Even though there are no death-defying tricks or bar-to-bar moments, the pictures are wonderful. They capture the riders in their most natural state: just out on the track having fun. You can see the photos at “I see pictures everywhere…

Now I’m itching to see what I can capture with my Nikon.

Comments
  1. hey man, thanks for putting me on your blog really appreciate it! thanks for showing love.

Leave a Reply

