Ride in Peace, Eigo Sato

Posted: March 3, 2013 in News and Events
Tags: , ,

I’m deeply saddened by the death of freestyle motocross rider Eigo Sato.  He was the first Asian FMXer I knew of, which meant a lot to me.  I felt closer to the sport I loved seeing someone from the side of the world my family is from. Eigo also helped out Japan after the 2011 earthquake and tsunami.  He stayed strong despite losing his office and having family struggling with the nuclear crisis in his hometown of Iwaki. The FMX community already knows how great of a person he was, and I thought people outside of the action sports world should do. Since I also run a blog about Japanese culture, I decided to pay tribute by highlighting his achievements there. Click here to read the post.

A fellow motocross fan shared this touching tribute, and I wanted to pass it along:

RIP Eigo Sato 1978/2013 by mm-prod

My thoughts and prayers remain with his family and friends. Ride in peace, Eigo.

Leave a Reply

